The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres Insider Mobile App Twitter Facebook The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres

Five-Year Contract with Entercom

Tuesday, 12.12.2006 / 12:00 AM ET / News
Buffalo Sabres | Press Release
Share with your Friends

Five-Year Contract with Entercom

December 12, 2006

The Buffalo Sabres today announced a five-year contract with Entercom Buffalo, LLC (WGR Sports Radio 550) to broadcast live radio coverage of all Sabres games. The new five-year deal will commence with the 2007-08 season.

"This is great news for the Buffalo Sabres and our tremendous fans," said Sabres managing partner Larry Quinn. "We couldn't be happier with our radio coverage now, as it extends well into the Southern Tier, Rochester and Southern Ontario. We look forward to continuing this partnership with Entercom for another five years."

The Sabres are now in their second season on WGR Sports Radio 550. All broadcasts feature a one-hour pre-game show with Mike Schopp and The Bulldog, and a one-hour post-game show hosted by Brad Riter. Sabres head coach Lindy Ruff also appears live every Tuesday morning at 8:05 a.m. on the Howard Simon Show.

"In a year when the Sabres have returned to their original blue and gold colors, we are proud to continue a long term association with the team on its original flagship station, WGR," said Greg Ried, Vice President/General Manager of Entercom Buffalo. "The Western New York area has been re-energized by Sabres hockey. We are happy to share in the passion."

In October, Entercom Buffalo and the Sabres announced the debut of the Sabres Radio Network. With WGR Sports Radio 550 as the flagship station, the network also includes four other stations - WROC 950 AM (Rochester), WBTA 1490 AM (Batavia), WKSN 1340 AM (Jamestown), and WMXO 101.5 FM (Olean). Network affiliates do not receive the pre-game show, and air an abbreviated version of the post-game show.

Veteran announcers Rick Jeanneret and Jim Lorentz will continue to call the action for the Sabres Radio Network, as well as on television for the MSG Network.


T. Ennis 78 20 26 -19 46
M. Moulson 77 13 28 -11 41
B. Gionta 69 13 22 -13 35
Z. Girgensons 61 15 15 -16 30
R. Ristolainen 78 8 12 -32 20
M. Foligno 57 8 12 -5 20
J. Larsson 39 6 10 0 16
N. Deslauriers 82 5 10 -24 15
N. Zadorov 60 3 12 -10 15
A. Meszaros 60 7 7 -13 14
A. Lindback 4 8 2 .924 2.76
M. Hackett 0 4 1 .884 4.32